The Liner Notes

All the music that matters

Archive for March 2011

Peter Bjorn & John new album streaming on NPR

leave a comment »

NPR’s First Listen offered up Peter Bjorn & John’s new album “Gimmie Some” a week before the official release. First listens indicated it is one of the best albums of the year so far.

The album is the best effort by the Swedish trio since “Writer’s Block” in 2006. The poppy snappy hooks sound comfortably familiar while braving some new ground here.

The best track by far is the cowbell laden “Second Chance” complete with transcendental lyrics and a syrupy guitar solo. Other  songs such as “(Don’t Let Them) Cool Off” have a more traditional rock sound to them driven by deep guitar riffs and simple drum beats.

In all PB&J have recaptured some glory here while managing to raise the bar at the same time, it’s a great album well worth a listen.


1. Tomorrow Has To Wait
2. Dig A Little Deeper
3. Second Chance
4. Eyes
5. Breaker Breaker
6. May Seem Macabre
7. (Don’t Let Them) Cool Off
8. Black Book
9. Down Like Me
10. Lies
11. I Know You Don’t Love Me




Written by David Young

March 23, 2011 at 5:31 pm