The Liner Notes

All the music that matters

New Music Tuesday

leave a comment »

Waka Flacka Flame “Flockaveli”

For the past few weeks I’ve been listening to Hard in Da Paint and No Hands with much anticipation for this debut album.

Waka Flacka Flame (say that five times fast) is pure rowdy hip-hop. The in-your-face Atlanta emcee pulls no punches here. It is clear he goes hard not just in the paint but for all 17 tracks on this album.

While advocating for Lil Wayne and Gucci’s freedom, Flame has some catchy beats here. From Lil Nemo to Columbine, Flame rhymes just about everything while repeating “Waka Flocka Flame” about 1,000 times here.

Key tracks: Hard In Da Paint, Bang and No Hands

Guster “Easy Wonderful”

The title pretty much says everything here. This music is simply easy to listen to with a wonderful melody.

Coming off of their more low-key “Ganging Up On The Sun,” Guster runs with the pop alternative sound here that they helped pioneer.

Nothing really groundbreaking on this record, but for Guster fans it’s the band doing what it does best.

Key Tracks:  Architects & Engineers, Hercules and non-album bonus track Jonah.

Bruno Mars “Doo-Wops & Hooligans”

Bruno Mars’ new single Just the Way You Are has been playing everywhere.

Odds are if you like that track you will like his new album. This is a collection of shiny sing-along singles designed to make you hum along as you drive into a sunset.

Sappy, perhaps, but Mars has found his niche and nailed it on this album. The soulful reggae-style blues melds well with the poppy hooks.

Key Tracks: Grenade, Just The Way You Are and Liquor Store Blues

Jars of Clay “The Shelter”

This is simply an amazing album.

Jars of Clay are an talented group of musicians who progress immensely with every album. No two albums sound the same, and the true is here with Shelter. The band brought in a number of guests for this collection of 11 songs, which is a bit different.

Bottom line is this is a deftly composed album that is beautiful.

Key Tracks: Small Rebellions, We Will Follow and No Greater Love

Jason Mraz “Life is Good”

Life is good for Mr. A -Z.

Here Mraz shows just how good with a laid back collection of feel-good live tracks in his new EP.

Four of the five tracks here are previously unreleased, so this is worth checking out. But the live takes are solid recordings from his recent North American tour showcasing Mraz’s talent.

Key Tracks: Freedom Song, Up and Coyotes


Written by David Young

October 5, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: