The Liner Notes

All the music that matters

Archive for January 2010

Gorillaz release new single

leave a comment »

The Gorillaz officially released their first single “Stylo” off of their new album “Plastic Island” today.

A catchy track filled with synth beats and Damon Albarn’s signature funky lyrics, “Stylo” features Mos Deaf and Bobby Womack.

Built upon a steady electric beat and a gentle cooing noise, the trio brings the song to an apex with: “It’s the love of electric/it’ll be flowing on the streets/night after night just to get through the week/sometimes it’s hard.”

“Stylo” leaked online earlier this month whereupon Gorillaz animated lead singer Murdoc Niccals posted the following message on his Twitter account:

“A leak! A leak! Plastic Beach has sprung a leak! One of those Russian pirates has put a bullet hole on my island! My single’s leaked! STYLO!”

It is the first new music the band has officially released in three years since “D-Sides” dropped in 2007. The cartoon band, which will headline this year’s Coachella Festival, are slated to release the third album in March 9.

This time around the Gorillaz album will feature: Snoop Dog, De La Soul, Lou Deed, Little Dragon and Gruff Rhys.

“Plastic Beach” tracklist:

1. “Orchestral Intro”
2. “Welcome To The World Of The Plastic Beach” (feat. Snoop Dogg and Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
3. “White Flag” (feat. Kano Bashy)
4. “Rhinestone Eyes”
5. “Stylo” (feat. Bobby Womack and Mos Def)
6. “Superfast Jellyfish” (feat. Gruff Rhys and De La Soul)
7. “Empire Ants” (feat. Little Dragon)
8. “Glitter Freeze” (feat. Mark E Smith)
9. “Some Kind Of Nature” (feat. Lou Reed)
10. “On Melancholy Hill”
11. “Broken”
12. “Sweepstakes” (feat. Mos Def Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
13. “Plastic Beach” (feat. Mick Jones Paul Simonon)
14. “To Binge” (feat. Little Dragon)
15. “Cloud Of Unknowing” (feat. Bobby Womack)
16. “Pirate Jet”


Written by David Young

January 26, 2010 at 6:47 pm

New Hendrix on the horizon

leave a comment »

Jimi Hendrix

Given the opportunity to delve into the vault of any deceased musician, Jimi Hendrix will be high on the list, if not the top.

Well, Hendrix’s fans need not wait much longer to hear some gems from the unreleased follow-up to “Electric Ladyland.”

The album “Valleys Of Neptune,”  in honor of the 40th anniversary of Hendrix’s death, will be released this March.

The posthumous 12 song album is a collection of tracks mainly from sessions at London’s Olympic Studios and New York’s Record Plant in 1969. The recording includes the famed guitarist’s final recording with the original Jimi Hendrix Experience lineup and his first work with bassist Billy Cox.

In addition to the album’s title track, “Valley Of Neptune” will include renditions of: “Red House,” “Fire,” and “Stone Free.” Also expected an enlightened cover of Cream’s “Sunshine of Your Love”

The Guardian reported  Hendrix’s sister Janie, who oversees his estate, indicated the guitarist’s “brilliance shines through on every one of these precious tracks.”

The album will be available March 9, and reports indicate the Hendrix vault is still ripe with tracks for future releases.

I would also be remiss in writing about Hendrix to not recommend “Room Full of Mirrors” by Charles R. Cross. This is by far the most comprehensive biography on Hendrix.

Written by David Young

January 18, 2010 at 4:39 pm

Posted in Music

Tagged with ,